I think this is one of the best awards that AALL presents to an outstanding member. Actually, it just makes me think back to when I was within my first 10 years of the profession (really, not that long ago) and how eager I was to get into the association, be involved, and make a difference. Looking at the past list of winners, you can see how much of an impact they have had on the association already.

If you know of anyone you would like to nominate (or if you want to nominate yourself… which is completely fine), the deadline is February 1st, so you need to get moving!!

Here’s the instructions:

Help us honor AALL’s emerging leaders!

The Leadership Development Committee is now accepting nominations for the AALL Emerging Leader Award, which celebrates the contributions of newer law librarians. The award honors members of AALL who, in their first 10 years of law library experience, have made a significant contribution to the Association and/or the profession and who show outstanding promise for continuing service and leadership to AALL. The recipient will receive a certificate and a $500 cash prize.

Nominations should include evidence of the nominee’s contributions to AALL and/or the profession and may include up to 3 supporting letters.  (Petitions and letter writing campaigns, beyond those letters included with the application, are discouraged and will not be considered in the evaluation process — nor will they influence the Committee.)

Selection Criteria:

The nominee must:

·         be an AALL member in good standing
·         not have more than 10 years of law library experience
·         never have received the Emerging Leader Award
·         have made a significant contribution to the Association and/or the profession
·         show outstanding promise for continuing service and leadership. (Specific examples of continuing activities must be provided)

Self-nomination is acceptable.

If someone you nominated in the past did not win – but still satisfies the eligibility requirements — please consider nominating him or her once again!

Previous Winners:

Nominations and recipients come from all parts of the Law Library community. Take a look at our previous award winners:

2012:     Margaret Butler, Associate Director for Public Services, Georgia State University College of Law Library, Atlanta, GA

2011:     Kathleen (Katie) Brown, Assistant Director for Public and Faculty Services, Oklahoma City University School of Law, Oklahoma City, OK

2010:     Sarah K.C. Mauldin, Head Librarian, Smith, Gambrell & Russell, LLP in Atlanta, GA

Application Information:


Send the completed nomination form and all accompanying documentation to AALL by February 1, 2013.

American Association of Law Libraries
Leadership Development Committee Chair
105 W Adams Street
Suite 3300
Chicago, IL 60603-6225
Phone: (312) 205-8010
Fax: (312) 205-8011
Email: vcastillo@aall.org

The award winner will be announced in April, and the award will be presented during the AALL Annual Meeting.