Many of you may have heard that I have been elected to the American Association of Law Libraries Executive Board. Although I don’t officially start until after the July conference, I am happy that the current board has created an award to recognize newer law librarians. 

If you know of someone that’s been a law librarian for less than 10 years, but is a strong leader, please nominate them for this award!

Here’s the announcement:

The AALL Executive Board has approved celebrating the contributions of newer law librarians by providing “The Emerging Leader Award.” The award honors members of AALL in their first 10 years of law library experience who have made a significant contribution to the Association and/or the profession and who show outstanding promise for continuing service and leadership to AALL. The award carries a $500 cash prize. Up to three recipients may be honored in any one year. 

For more information about the nominations process go to:

This is an opportunity to highlight emerging leaders. Those of us in the profession owe it to the next generation to recognize those young leaders that are making a difference in PLL/AALL.

DEADLINE: February 1, 2011

The Emerging Leader Award recognizes newer members who have already made significant contributions to the Association and/or to the profession and have demonstrated the potential for leadership and continuing service.
Selection Process:
The Leadership Development Committee will solicit nominations for the award. They should target the call for nominations to entities that serve as an entry point for member service – the Special Interest Sections, the GenX/GenY caucus, chapters, and other committee chairs or any other group that may be applicable in the future. More than one award may be given, but no more than three awards may be given in a single year. The deadline for nominations will be February 1 with a selection deadline of March 20.
Nominations should include evidence of the nominee’s contributions to AALL or the profession and may include up to 3 supporting letters, which must be submitted with the nomination. Petitions and letter writing campaigns (beyond those letters included with the application) are discouraged and will not be considered in the evaluation process nor will they influence the Committee. The Emerging Leader Award carries a $500 cash prize.
Selection Criteria:

  • The nominee must be a member in good standing of AALL
  • The nominee must be in his/her first 10 years of law library experience
  • The nominee must not have previously received an Emerging Leader Award
  • The nominee must have made a significant contribution to the Association and/or the profession.
  • The nominee must have shown outstanding promise for continuing service and leadership. Specific examples of his/her continuing activities must be provided

Specific examples of his/her continuing activities must be provided.
Application Information:
Download Emerging Leader Award Nomination Form
Nominations must be received by AALL no later than February 1 of each year; self-nomination by members is acceptable. A subcommittee of the Leadership Development Committee will complete its deliberations and the selection process by March 20.
The subcommittee of the Leadership Development Committee will review the nominations and make a final decision on who will receive the award. Each nominee shall be considered individually and confidentially and will be judged according to the criteria listed above. The award may be presented annually, but there is no requirement that the award be given each year. For more information, please contact Leadership Development Committee Chair, Gail Warren at
Nominations and all accompanying documentation for this award should be sent to:

    American Association of Law Libraries
    Leadership Development Committee Chair
    105 W Adams Street
    Suite 3300
    Chicago, IL 60603-6225
    Phone: (312) 205-8010
    Fax: (312) 205-8011
    (Please include Email Subject Line: Emerging Leader Award)

Award Presentation
The award shall be presented during the AALL Annual Meeting, and it will be given in name of the Association. The recipient will receive a certificate and a $500 cash prize.
Previous Winners:

  • 2010
    Sarah K.C. Mauldin, Smith, Gambrell & Russell, LLP